Moustache Coffee Club Reviews

Some comments and feedback from our customers.

Tim McCarthy

MORAGA

Member Since
June '16

Oh Yeah

So good I forgot to save some for my wife. Very smooth, no bitterness, and a lot of chocolate and sweetness. Sometimes I have a hard time tasting the tasting notes on the card but not this coffee. One of our favorites. Nice work Team Moustache! Made Thanksgiving morning scrumptious. Thank you and Happy Thanksgiving.

Submitted about 6 hours ago.


Edward Brown

West Hartford

Member Since
January '19

Delightful

Light and sweet and tasty!

Submitted about 15 hours ago.


David R

Sausalito

Member Since
October '15

Dessert in a cup

Rich and dessert-like coffee is an apt description. Delicious, and the perfect way to start Thanksgiving morning.

Submitted 1 day ago.


Patrick Weidmann

Centennial

Member Since
March '18

Love it

The smooth medium chocolatey body starts you off, then the faint fruity peach flavor hits you subtly, bringing a wonderful sweetness to the flavor. Needless to say this one brought a smile to my face. I am looking forward to the next lot from El Diamante.

Submitted 1 day ago.


Kevin Florida

Katy

Member Since
March '16

One of the better ones

I always enjoy this coffee grower. One of my favorites and one of the few coffees I enjoy as much as east African varieties.

Submitted 3 days ago.


Steven Gilmer

Huntington Beach

Member Since
June '20

La Britanna is Rich

The beans in the bag emit a rich aroma that is captivating. You hate to grind the beans. The coffee is rich and full. There is a very pleasant after taste. No bitterness at all. This to me is a great coffee. Incredibly good. I see another review thinks it is too weak. I disagree. For comparison I grind two level tablespoons. It is very rich. I'm drinking a cup now with a cherry turnover. Incredible. So buy one bag to drink and another to open and smell during the year when you make a mistake in life and need to smell the coffee.

Submitted 4 days ago.


David R

Sausalito

Member Since
October '15

Classic El Socorro

If you're a fan of the El Socorro farm, you won't be disappointed with Pacamara. Rich, luscious, creamy mouthfeel. Sweet, medium bodied flavor with a bit of spice and even smoke, mildly reminiscent of BBQ brisket. Excellent coffee, as you'd expect from El Socorro.

Submitted 7 days ago.


David R

Sausalito

Member Since
October '15

Wow!

I'm enjoying this even more than I thought I would. Mellow, complex, and well-balanced. This is one of my favorites.

Submitted 19 days ago.


Steven Gilmer

Huntington Beach

Member Since
June '20

Bourbon is Great

I have to say I love most of the coffees from the club. This one is no exception. It has a fullness of flavor. I lean toward club coffees with a fruit after taste. This one has that in a subtle way. No bitterness at all. Rich. Great with a spot of cream and a vanilla icing cup cake at 2am. Everyone knows that is the true test of excellence.

Submitted 19 days ago.


Michael W Ford

Temecula

Member Since
December '15

One of my favorites

I've been a bi-weekly subscriber since 2017 and this was probably my favorite roast yet. Thanks Moustache!

Submitted 20 days ago.


David R

Sausalito

Member Since
October '15

Good stuff

Rich and complex with a little spice and a bit of tartness. Very enjoyable.

Submitted 21 days ago.


Josh Richardson

New York

Member Since
August '20

Light, bright and delicious

Juicy light stone fruits and mellow sweetness coming through. Lovely cup.

Submitted 22 days ago.


David R

Sausalito

Member Since
October '15

Absolutely fantastic

Reminiscent of a Guatemalan coffee - smooth and rich with deeper chocolate and sweet caramel notes. Absolutely delectable coffee.

Submitted 25 days ago.


Rob Brayer

Seaside

Member Since
September '20

Mouthwatering and delicious

The rare coffee that my wife enjoyed the smell of. The brown sugar and cocoa are really pronounced. It’s a delightful aroma. Equally important (and of course, related) is the fabulous flavor. Creamy, smooth and well-balanced. Music to my tongue!

Submitted 28 days ago.


Tim McCarthy

MORAGA

Member Since
June '16

Oh Yeah

Could drink this everyday. The beans have a fragrant smell which carries over when brewed. Another Ethiopian hit.

Submitted 29 days ago.


Josh Richardson

New York

Member Since
August '20

Rich and complex

Delicious, milky richness and nougat notes coming through.

Submitted 30 days ago.


Stephen Brown

San Diego

Member Since
October '20

Excellent, Intense Coffee

I tend to like darker roasts but this was a great coffee. A bit too intense for me and had to dial back the grind quite a bit. Even then the fruit flavor really stands out. Some carmel notes in the beginning. A bit acidic, I think. I drink a lot of coffee and although try a lot of different roasts and coffees, not sure I know enough about coffee to comment on it too much. I do like it and it's definitely a great coffee.

Submitted 30 days ago.


Rob Brayer

Seaside

Member Since
September '20

Fantastic!

This is the best one yet. Smooth sipper indeed. Look forward to this one each morning. Yum!

Submitted about 1 month ago.


Katlyn Lynch

Golden Valley

Member Since
July '18

Bitter but tasty!

Loved this coffee! Not one we’d have week after week because it is so acidic, but a good and welcome change up from the usual.

Submitted about 1 month ago.


Dustin Elliott

Philadelphia

Member Since
July '15

Best Natural I've ever had!

We usually aren't a fan of natural coffees but this was amazing. Very tasty. Already looking forward to the morning cup tomorrow.

Submitted about 1 month ago.


David R

Sausalito

Member Since
October '15

Sublime

Stupendous coffee. Not as light and delicate as I was expecting, given certain reviews. Complex and lively. One caveat: if you're not a fan of floral notes, this likely isn't the coffee for you.

Submitted about 1 month ago.


Skylar Venema

Wheaton

Member Since
May '20

This is a really good coffee

This coffee worked great as a pour over. I would recommend a higher temperature around 95 or 96C. The coffee has a really nice fragrance. This coffee is quite complex with a mildly acidic front, the peach accent running through with the kiwi accent sort of hiding or coming out at times. The coffee has a fairly light to medium body after the front and has a very delicious finish with the chocolate notes distinctive. It is a very clean tasting coffee. Really enjoyed this one!

Submitted about 1 month ago.


Thomas Callanan

South Boston

Member Since
May '20

Very mellow and flavorful

I'm not as sophisticated in evaluating coffee as some other users. However, I know what I like and this might be my favorite morning coffee. I tend to favor peaberry coffees and Vienna roasts. I don't find as many of those as I used to. I would definitely put this one on rotation.

Submitted about 1 month ago.


Tim McCarthy

MORAGA

Member Since
June '16

Another Club Winner

Not picking up as much rich chocolate but I am picking up a smooth tasting cup of coffee with a bit of sweetness at the end. Another Ethiopian winner.

Submitted about 1 month ago.


David R

Sausalito

Member Since
October '15

Superb

Fantastic coffee; this is about as good as it gets. Having received numerous coffees from the El Socorro farm over the years, I've come to count on them as one of the best at supplying archetypal Guatemalan beans - lush, rich, dense, and complex. Don't miss out!

Submitted about 1 month ago.


Moira Todd

Silver Spring

Member Since
July '18

Love this

The fruit notes are a bit darker, more like stone fruits. The acidity doesn't punch you right away, the molassesy sweetness lingers in a lovely way.

Submitted about 1 month ago.


Steven Gilmer

Huntington Beach

Member Since
June '20

Smooth and interesting

Guatamala and Columbia seem to be my favorite growing locations thus far. This coffee is smooth and complex and is terrific with my Italian late night cupcakes. Highly recommend this coffee ! :-)

Submitted about 1 month ago.


Steven Gilmer

Huntington Beach

Member Since
June '20

Great Coffee

Smooth, mellow, no bitterness. This is one of my favorites thus far. El Limonar was the other. Can I purchase more of this? Great coffee !!! :-)

Submitted about 1 month ago.


Steven Gilmer

Huntington Beach

Member Since
June '20

La Basa is the Boss !

This coffee was mellow and rich yet with no acid or bitterness. I had my aunt and cousin over for a visit and they sang it's praises too. I gave them my extra bag I had ordered and I was texted they love it still. Now I'm down to one bag but I feel good I gave them a great coffee and introduced them to the club. Very highly recommended!

Submitted about 1 month ago.


Äraminta Midkiff

Lopez Island

Member Since
February '20

Juicy and delicious

I wasn’t sure I’d like an Ethiopian since my favorites have always been Costa Rican or geisha varieties. Really enjoying the juiciness!

Submitted about 1 month ago.


Anik Sood

Brooklyn

Member Since
June '19

Smooth and very Tasty

This coffee had an aroma that filled up my apartment in a very pleasant way. The mouthfeel and taste are very nice. Berry sweet, and very lush and noticeable flavor and texture.

Submitted about 1 month ago.


TLeah Summers

Dudley

Member Since
April '19

Rich, velvety cup

One of my favorite parts of the delivery is when I first open the bag and smell the fresh beans. Right away the fragrance when you open this bag is luxurious, a nice rich sweet coffee smell. The taste is everything the paragraphs above say. Probably the most accurate description I have read of one of their coffees. Rich sweetness and a hint of berry without being tart or bitter (must be what they call plum), a smooth cup the whole way through. And again, a to die for scent.

Submitted about 1 month ago.


Josh Richardson

New York

Member Since
August '20

Mellow light and fruity

Delicious fruity and light acidity with smooth mouth feel.

Submitted about 2 months ago.


Travis carlisle

Louisville

Member Since
February '19

amazing

incredible aroma and flavor, please send me some more!

Submitted about 2 months ago.


Amit Agarwal

Monterey Park

Member Since
May '20

Amazing!

Perfect Geisha

Submitted about 2 months ago.


Äraminta Midkiff

Lopez Island

Member Since
February '20

Love Geisha!

I have always loved geisha coffee and this one does not disappoint. Very happy with this one. Thank you for bringing it in!

Submitted about 2 months ago.


David R

Sausalito

Member Since
October '15

Love this Coffee

Well-rounded and medium-bodied. A bit of brightness, a piquancy, and a touch of sweetness overlain on a grounded backbone of roastiness. Absolutely delicious. Easy-drinking, yet the complexity is there for those who look.

Submitted about 2 months ago.


Erik Hons

Austin

Member Since
April '17

Stellar

I have to go back and lower the ratings on some previous batches now

Submitted about 2 months ago.


Ryan Smith

Mckinney

Member Since
July '16

Complex Cup

I like this one. Very complex tasting notes. I got a hint of thyme from this one. Very interesting.

Submitted about 2 months ago.


Elizabeth Elizabeth

Shafter

Member Since
October '18

Bright and full of flavor

Excellent Ethiopian coffee! I love the fruity flavor - bright and sweet, just how I like it.

Submitted about 2 months ago.


Jeff Bedser

Hamilton Square

Member Since
October '17

Can I get this every month???

Amazing taste and finish. Bold flavor and smooth taste. My wife asked if we could just get this bean every month! (So can we?)

Submitted about 2 months ago.


Wendy Foster

Crestwood

Member Since
April '18

Big Fruit

Agree with some other reviewers that this is very reminiscent of an Ethiopian. Big fruit aroma right out of the bag, just grinding the beans gives you a good idea of what to expect. Both pour over and drip have produced excellent brews, with a bright and juicy berry note leading the charge with a really nice balance of sweetness/acidity rounding out the cup. If you haven't tried it yet and like Naturals, get a bag before they run out.

Submitted about 2 months ago.


David R

Sausalito

Member Since
October '15

Excellent Coffee

Smooth and mellow, Diamante 2020 is sure to please. The "nose" of the dry beans is nutty, reminiscent of peanut-butter, but the flavor profile of the brewed coffee is not. Notes of smooth milk chocolate combine with a subtle acidic spike of fruit to give the impression of Diamante 2020 operating within a middle ground, bounded both high and low. Medium-bodied with a bit of complexity. Warning: may disappear from your mug in short order!

Submitted 2 months ago.


Will Bklyn

Brooklyn

Member Since
January '16

Smooth fruit forward

Nicely fruity and very smooth and delicate.

Submitted 2 months ago.


David R

Sausalito

Member Since
October '15

Delicious

Well-balanced, sweet and juicy, this is one delicious coffee.

Submitted 2 months ago.


Leslie Fok

Wahiawa

Member Since
March '18

Delicious

I've always like coffees from Huehuetenango. This is a very good coffee. It has medium body, chocolatey front, and fruit in the back. The description was correct when it says peachy taste. I had the 2019 lot and remembered I liked it. That's why I made sure to have this years El Diamonte as well.

Submitted 2 months ago.


Skylar Venema

Wheaton

Member Since
May '20

Smooth, Fruity, and Honeylike Finish

This coffee has been great as a pour over. It has a very nice strawberry type accent, with a light to medium body and not so much acidity. It is a quite a smooth brew. I also get a bit of creamy accent with a very nice honey flavor. This coffee has a wonderful finish to it.

Submitted 2 months ago.


Luke Dougherty

Benbrook

Member Since
July '20

The best

Smoothest coffee to date from Moustache. Easy to drink, and quite light and refreshing.

Submitted 2 months ago.


Tim McCarthy

MORAGA

Member Since
June '16

Another Winner

The streak continues.

Submitted 3 months ago.


David R

Sausalito

Member Since
October '15

Exceptional Decaf

Sublime decaf. Surprisingly, I actually enjoyed this more than some of the regular, caffeinated Moustaches I receive. Do yourself a favor and get this coffee, even if you don't typically enjoy decaf. Brew a small pot in the afternoon and luxuriate in the lavish texture and taste. Great stuff.

Submitted 3 months ago.


David R

Sausalito

Member Since
October '15

Easy Drinkin'

Mellow and soft, San Luis is an easy drinking cup of coffee. It has a soft, almost pillowy texture and is extremely smooth. Subtle high notes round things out. This mug of coffee will disappear quickly without you knowing what happened.

Submitted 3 months ago.


Josh Richardson

New York

Member Since
August '20

Delicious

Great brew, balanced with milk chocolate notes.

Submitted 3 months ago.


Dustin Elliott

Philadelphia

Member Since
July '15

Loved it!

Absolutely loved this coffee.

Submitted 3 months ago.


Matthew Malone

Orlando

Member Since
February '16

Incredible

These are the best naturals I've ever had. They are easily some of my favorite beans in recent memory. I was shocked by the aroma and flavor. Highly recommended!

Submitted 3 months ago.


Tim McCarthy

MORAGA

Member Since
June '16

Give Me More

As we shelter in place just outside of SF my better half yells down the stairs into my office. Did you try the coffee....it was #@$@! awesome. That's from a person that so rarely drops profanity. 4 for the last 4 weeks have been top notch. I assume this is roasting again although I missed the Monday order cutoff window.

Submitted 3 months ago.


Matthew Mitchel

Newton

Member Since
January '20

Another winner.

Moustache keeps hitting it out of the park

Submitted 3 months ago.


Matthew Mitchel

Newton

Member Since
January '20

Heavenly

I adored this coffee. Real smooth.

Submitted 3 months ago.


Matthew Mitchel

Newton

Member Since
January '20

Excellent Coffee

This is a real lovely blend. I don't usually taste the notes, but the pineapple was very much there.

Submitted 3 months ago.


Lynn Street

New Haven

Member Since
December '17

My husband’s very favorite to date

He’s a traditional kind of guy, sure, but the coffee is delicious.

Submitted 3 months ago.


Margaret Anttonen

Renton

Member Since
May '20

Smells so delicious

I never have experienced a coffee so distinct in aroma and flavor! Very prominent citrus flavor, I can definitely see where the pineapple note comes from. It does have relatively high acidity when brewed in a french press, which can have a drying effect on the mouth. I decided to try brewing cold brew — this coffee is truly meant for it I feel! The fruitiness came through without the strong acidity. If you want a coffee with a pow!, this one delivers!

Submitted 3 months ago.


Tim McCarthy

MORAGA

Member Since
June '16

Very Smooth with Flavor

I've had some really good coffee the last 3 weeks. Thank you Team Moustache

Submitted 3 months ago.


Skylar Venema

Wheaton

Member Since
May '20

Really delicious coffee with strong and great aroma.

This coffee is a great treat! It is indeed very fruity with the pineapple type accents. There is another very unique and distinctive aroma and flavor accent that I get after brewing, yet I cannot put my finger on it. It is an almost savory/salty? accent almost reminiscent of some root vegetable or something. Had good and pretty deep body as a pour over. Also works well as an espresso, but I have needed a much stronger ratio if using to make a latte, etc-aprx twice the coffee/water ratio. But if sone it is a really fruity good tasting latte.

Submitted 3 months ago.


Skylar Venema

Wheaton

Member Since
May '20

Excellent Coffee

This coffee was such a good cup as a pour over. It had wonderful fragrance and nice body. Most of the good complex notes came out and the coffee had a distinctive flavor when hot, which tapered off and faded when the temperature went down.

Submitted 3 months ago.


Ryan Leimkuhler

Fullerton

Member Since
November '16

So juicy!

I loved this one because of the burst of raspberry and citrus you get from the nose to the first sip. One of my favorites ever!

Submitted 3 months ago.


Alex Savard

Brooklyn

Member Since
July '20

Unbelievable Decaf

After searching far-and-wide to find an exceptional cup of decaf coffee, my search has finally come to an end. This. Is. It. Seriously, the difference between this decaf and others is night-and-day (bad decaf pun non-intended). Preparation: Quick (2m extraction) pour-over on a course grind at 202°F with a 16:1 ratio was flawless.

Submitted 3 months ago.


David R

Sausalito

Member Since
October '15

Interesting Coffee

La Virgensota is intriguing, it tastes like a blend of dark and light roasts. As a result, you get the full, rich, roasty goodness of a classic roast, combined with the sweetness and hint of acid of a lighter roast. More difficult to discern some of the subtleties of the coffee due to the dark roastiness predominating, but this is an intriguing coffee nonetheless. Great everyday cup that doesn't demand too much from you, nice and smooth, rich and deep without being bitter.

Submitted 3 months ago.


Jonathan Wynbrandt, MD

Chesterland

Member Since
April '20

Amazing

This recent shipment was the best so far. I mean all the coffees have been excellent but the La Virgensota was unique and so smooth. I’m going through it too quickly!

Submitted 3 months ago.


Randall LaLonde

Millcreek

Member Since
July '15

La Virgensota

Another outstanding cup of coffee from Moustache. The plumy, juiciness of the coffee hits you first, followed by a rich and sweet bottom, very balanced and smooth. The last two coffees I've received have both been superb light roasts.

Submitted 4 months ago.


Dustin Elliott

Philadelphia

Member Since
July '15

Absolutely delicious!

This coffee is so enjoyable. Floral right off the bat, and absolutely delicious as it cools and opens up!

Submitted 4 months ago.


TLeah Summers

Dudley

Member Since
April '19

Fruta indeed!

The moment I opened this coffee I was hit with some strong, wonderful, fruity scents. As strong or stronger than the Ethiopian coffees I normally go for. I brewed one mug with a breville youbrew and filtered water. Stay by your machine just to smell it when it is brewing 😍😍😍 This also tastes more like a Ugandan or Ethiopian coffee to me than a typical Huila, and that suits me just fine. However, if you aren't used to natural coffees/ berry flavor in your coffee, I do not think you will want to start here. On a side note, I liked this month's packaging as well. It's silly, but it adds to the experience.

Submitted 4 months ago.


Skylar Venema

Wheaton

Member Since
May '20

Nice tropical fruit flavors.

I really enjoyed this coffee. I have tried making this coffee 3 ways. I tried it in the french press and it wasn't the greatest and didn't have much body. This coffee was excellent as a pour over with really nice aroma and very nicely balanced, but with strong fruit notes. Surprisingly the coffee was delicious made on the espresso machine as a breve latte. It goes great with cream and my friend and I picked up banana type notes. The natural process characteristics of this coffee are really great!

Submitted 4 months ago.


David R

Sausalito

Member Since
October '15

Tasty!

Very well-balanced coffee - sweet, a hint of acid, with a robust underlying chocolatey body. Lacking a bit in complexity, but a wonderful everyday drinking coffee. Very rewarding and doesn't demand too much of your attention.

Submitted 4 months ago.


AJ Bachman

Aliso Viejo

Member Since
February '18

Love the aroma!

If you enjoy fruit forward flavors, this is one you should try. I’m yes, all coffee smells amazing, but the tropical fruit flavors are present the moment you open the beans. The best part...it’s great until the last drop!

Submitted 4 months ago.


Alex Savard

Brooklyn

Member Since
July '20

Unbelievabily Good

Without a doubt the best coffee I've ever had. Guji Heirloom is my favorite varietal and these are the best selected, best roasted beans I've had from the region. THANK YOU 💕

Submitted 4 months ago.


Michael Bufalini

Aliquippa

Member Since
July '20

Flavor profile Shines Through

The flavor is amazing. The brown sugar layers on top of the boldness of the flavor. Not overpowering but enough flavor that the notes are distinct. I usually like Dark Roasts more so but this gave a run for the money.

Submitted 4 months ago.


Margaret Anttonen

Renton

Member Since
May '20

Favorite so far

A lovely cup of coffee both iced and hot, allowing me to explore different notes with each experience of it. My favorite thing about this coffee is the aforementioned “warming spice.” With that and the dominant cocoa flavor, it has a cozy, autumn kind of vibe. I added some nutmeg and cinnamon to my cup to really amplify that. Additionally — thank you so much for sending me another shipment of this coffee! It got accidentally delivered to my neighbor’s mailbox. I can see why they didn’t return it to me. This is absolutely premium! Maybe they’ll join the club now. Haha!

Submitted 4 months ago.


Äraminta Midkiff

Lopez Island

Member Since
February '20

Smooth Cocoa Finish, just as promised!

My new 1zpresso k-pro manual grinder really brought out the smooth cocoa finish in this coffee on the first try. Definitely feels elegant and perfect for early afternoon sipping. Love it.

Submitted 4 months ago.


Will Bklyn

Brooklyn

Member Since
January '16

Fave

This is one of my favorite coffee you've ever sent.

Submitted 4 months ago.


Gregg Gusta

mebane

Member Since
February '19

this is the best one I have had

berry flavors are amazing. i hope they get this again, I will be all over it.

Submitted 4 months ago.


David R

Sausalito

Member Since
October '15

Delectable

Deri Kojowa has a very fragrant nose - floral and fruity. Upon sipping, you'll notice a vibrant tartness, a cross between blueberry and raspberry. If you like your coffees sweet, this one is for you. A luscious sweetness runs through the cup, and with a silky mouthfeel, Deri Kojowa disappeared from my mug quickly. Great if you enjoy tart and sweet coffees or a fan of wansed Ethiopian Heirlooms. Probably not for you if you aren't a fan of relatively high acid coffees.

Submitted 4 months ago.


Steven Gilmer

Huntington Beach

Member Since
June '20

El Limonar my favorite !!!

This is my preferred coffee now. Aprocassi comes close but this one has more zest. Fruit and coffee? Rich with character and no bitterness at all. The best way I can describe this not being a coffee snob is this coffee has a zest like a zesty marinara sauce as opposed to a spaghetti sauce that is left on the stove too long and becomes acidic.Also it is complex like a good sauce. Its not simply a rich coffee like Colombian coffees can be. It tastes like it's good for you. I know this might sound crazy but I find myself wanting another gulp before I set the cup down. Its gone before I know it. Very nice complex fruity aroma too. Rich. Mama mia this is great coffee !!! Ten stars !!!

Submitted 4 months ago.


Steven Gilmer

Huntington Beach

Member Since
June '20

Aprocassi excellent !!!

This is one of my two favorites thus far. It has a very bright fresh flavor with no bitter after taste. Like El Limonar it tastes rich. I grind one tablespoon and a half. I would say it is complex. Like El Limonar you can't help taking more than one gulp. If this makes any sense it tastes like a food that is good for you.Fruit and chocolate? And a fresh coffee bean flavor. Very nice picture of the gang ...

Submitted 4 months ago.


Jonathan Holt

Alameda

Member Since
June '18

Easily one of my favorite coffee so far from moustache

Amazing complexity and brightness. I did not know colombia was producing such interesting beans. I tend to prefer naturally processed as well but this had a really nice balance of fruit flavors as well as a nice body. More from this amazing farm please! Excellent.

Submitted 4 months ago.


Margaret Anttonen

Renton

Member Since
May '20

A pleasant coffee

This coffee was very mellow, very relaxing, and pleasant to drink. I didn't find that it stood out in any particular category. It didn't grab my attention. It fell into the background of whatever I was doing at the time. This isn't a bad quality -- such a mellow coffee is a safe bet to give to guests of varying tastes. For me personally, I find myself wanting a coffee that stands out and makes me notice it, take my attention off of my task and go "wow." But this is a coffee I would keep as a staple when I am studying or otherwise focused.

Submitted 4 months ago.


Yuji Iwai

San Jose

Member Since
June '15

Excellent French Press

This is one of those coffees that you want to extract every bit of goodness out of. And for some reason, all the wonderful flavors really shine when the coffee's cooled down quite a bit. Not a coffee to put in a thermos to gulp down, more like a single malt sipper.

Submitted 4 months ago.


Greg Brown

COLUMBUS

Member Since
March '20

I take more of this

I take more of this

Submitted 4 months ago.


Janice Rauch

South Bend

Member Since
April '16

Derived Kojowa

Excellenr! Loved it!

Submitted 4 months ago.


Kirsten ☕️

U.S.A

Member Since
April '13

Balanced and flavorful

I make this with a chemex and enjoy the well-rounded, deep flavor. Ordering it again and looking forward to it!

Submitted 5 months ago.


Diane Walsh

Seattle

Member Since
May '17

Subtle, but full flavored

Creamy and rich as espresso, but yet also mild flavored. Almost tea-like.

Submitted 5 months ago.


Äraminta Midkiff

Lopez Island

Member Since
February '20

Looooove this bean!!!

I’m always thrilled when I’m able to brew a bean that tastes just like the profile says it will. This is like the taste of black tea with the body of coffee. Definitely tasted the figgy plumminess too. So awesome! Love it! I use about 16 grams to 223 grams of water. I only eyeball the rate it filters and make sure to grab it off before going dry, though I will admit a low-grade bad habit of coming back an hour or two later to slug back the dregs from the cup under the filter. Single mom, need I say more? ;) The thing is: with this coffee- it was Still Good

Submitted 5 months ago.


Janice Rauch

South Bend

Member Since
April '16

Gashonga

Mellow. Nice cup of coffee.

Submitted 5 months ago.


David R

Sausalito

Member Since
October '15

Absolutely Delicious!

Fruity nose and a sweet, superbly balanced body. Smooth, light acid, and easy to drink. Exquisite!

Submitted 5 months ago.


Chris Ferguson

Phoenix

Member Since
April '16

Love it! Will have to try more natural processing going forward.

Submitted 5 months ago.


Ryan Smith

Mckinney

Member Since
July '16

This is the best coffee I’ve had in a while. Very easy to drink. I tasted notes of sweet berry.

Submitted 5 months ago.


Will Bklyn

Brooklyn

Member Since
January '16

Morning magic

This coffee has a low key spiciness that is balanced by a nice acidity. Really enjoy.

Submitted 5 months ago.


David R

Sausalito

Member Since
October '15

Absolutely Delicious

Fantastic Ethiopian brew, with a strong floral nose. Tasting notes were spot on - floral notes over a strong stone fruit sweetness. A mild tang is also noticeable at the high end. Balanced against this is an underlying earthiness that rounds things out. Complex, bright, but without too much acidity. Truly a delectable cup of coffee.

Submitted 5 months ago.


Karen Cheng

Weehawken

Member Since
January '19

AMAZING - EVERY DROP

This coffee is TASTY. I don't put much conscious effort into deciding whether or not a coffee is good, I just brew a cup and then open a book. If I can't stop reaching for the coffee and drink the whole thing (I'm a slow coffee drinker so usually it goes cold and I don't finish), then that's a good brew. Would totally recommend, especially if you're an Ethiopian fan.

Submitted 6 months ago.


David Hunter

Marysville

Member Since
March '16

Made my day!

Big in your face tropical fruit and a lively acidity are always a win for me. This really changed my opinion about where great coffee comes from because up until now I thought only African and a few Central American coffees could knock me off my feet. So thankful this family switched from growing corn and soy to coffee!

Submitted 6 months ago.


David R

Sausalito

Member Since
October '15

Fantastic

El Limonar is a quintessential Guatemalan - rich, smooth, and full-bodied, but with enough sweetness and acid to balance things out. Dried fruit and honey sweetness tasting notes were on the mark for me. If you're a fan of Guatemalan coffee, you can't go wrong with El Limonar.

Submitted 6 months ago.


Hunter Lacefield

Clinton

Member Since
January '20

Wow!

This coffee is my favorite yet from MCC! Perfect amounts of Acidity and Body help create a cup that is well rounded. Not too fruity, not too smoky. Just right.

Submitted 6 months ago.


David R

Sausalito

Member Since
October '15

Superb Coffee

A little lime, a little sugar, and a backbone of roasty stonefruit (apricot/nectarine), Sao Francisco is a delicious, well-balanced roast. I'm loving this coffee.

Submitted 6 months ago.


David R

Sausalito

Member Since
October '15

Very Good Coffee

Sumac Warmi has a comforting depth to it, rich and flavorful, reminiscent of dark cocoa. Balanced against this is a sweetness and piquancy that add complexity. There's a bit more acid and bitterness than some coffees, but all-told, a quality roast.

Submitted 6 months ago.


Jacob MacDonald

Denton

Member Since
April '18

Not going to get bored of this one.

Ended up giving my first shipment of this to my mom as a last-minute Mother's Day gift. Even on the blade grinder and French press at my parents' I got heavy apricot and spice vibes from the couple of cups I was able to get. I missed the deadline to get another batch the following week, so made do with preground for a week and a half before being able to get a second shipment. And boy am I glad I did. The flavor is unlike most other coffees I've tried, well-rounded, but with tons of room to experiment. Just wish my tasting was better so I could fine-tune more confidently...

Submitted 6 months ago.


BJ

Portland

Member Since
July '16

A personal favorite

Definitely biased as one of the roasters, but I love this coffee! Just can't get enough of the sweet, bright, tropical flavors in this lot. :)

Submitted 6 months ago.


David R

Sausalito

Member Since
October '15

One of my all-time favorites

What a coffee! Lyula AA is about as good as it gets for a non Tasting Series coffee. Boasting well-balanced sweetness, a fruity tartness, and a piquant spice, Lyula AA is a showstopper.

Submitted 6 months ago.


David R

Sausalito

Member Since
October '15

Absolutely Spectacular

I was expecting a lot with Villa Tatiana, and I was not let down. This is about as good as it gets if you're a fan of bright yet balanced coffees. Tasting notes were spot-on for me. This is one to savor.

Submitted 6 months ago.


Sandeep Thomas

Centerton

Member Since
November '19

The best

It's an amazing coffee variety. one of the best we have tried from MCC.

Submitted 7 months ago.


David R

Sausalito

Member Since
October '15

Absolutely Fantastic

Nossa Senhora do Carmo rates up there with some of my favorite coffees. It's structured and well-balanced, yet complex and interesting. A burst of subtle lime perches upon a stable backbone of roasted sugary sweetness. There's also an earthiness to these beans that keeps them grounded. Truly exceptional.

Submitted 7 months ago.


Anik Sood

Brooklyn

Member Since
June '19

Great coffee. Subtle taste

This is a really nice coffee with a subtle taste. It really went nicely with a splash of milk.

Submitted 7 months ago.


Allison Priore

Jim Thorpe

Member Since
December '18

Truly delightful

This was one of those coffees where you're really sad when you finish your cup. The flavor notes were bright and smooth. I definitely noticed a difference in flavors depending on how strong I brewed it in my aeropress - not in a bad way, but in a 'hey this is interesting' way.

Submitted 7 months ago.


Matthew Mitchel

Newton

Member Since
January '20

Amazeballs

This was one of the most interesting coffees I have ever tried. It tasted like I brewed coffee using a filter made with flowers. Very unusual, but I wish I had more of this blend. It was fantastic.

Submitted 7 months ago.


Laurie Coleman

Holden

Member Since
February '16

Delightful

Great flavor. Hint of sweetness. Not too acidic.

Submitted 7 months ago.


Leslie Fok

Wahiawa

Member Since
March '18

Beautiful!

I normally don't drink decaf, but I can only handle so much caffeine in one day. So I've started to order decafs because, really I'm addicted to coffee. Anyway, this coffee has some tart notes, especially at the back end, but not overly acidic. It also has great body that feels great across the tongue. I can't believe this is decaf.

Submitted 7 months ago.


Tisha Deen

Little Rock

Member Since
March '19

Great!

Rich and full taste. Really like this one.

Submitted 7 months ago.


GIANCARLO HERNANDEZ

HIALEAH

Member Since
November '19

Beautiful cup of joe

This was a great hit amongst the family! Looking forward to more.

Submitted 7 months ago.


Charles Gilliam

MADISON

Member Since
February '18

My Wife’s Favorite

My wife insisted I write this review. She mostly thinks coffee if coffee, but absolutely loved this one. She hasn’t stopped raving about it for weeks!

Submitted 7 months ago.


Erik Hons

Austin

Member Since
April '17

Excellent

I cannot rate coffees. All I can say is whether I like them more or less than others. This one is almost -- but not quite -- as awesome as the Fazenda Juquinha. Similar exciting flavor profile, but not quite as exciting. Easy to drink, but not quite as easy. It's tough having favorites, since everything else is not. But this is a fine substitute.

Submitted 7 months ago.


David R

Sausalito

Member Since
October '15

Absolutely delicious

This is one of my favorite roasts I've received from Moustache this year. Complex and interesting, Los Cedros hits you with a subtle tartness upon first sipping, soon thereafter unfolding a firm backbone of roasted sweetness. This is very enjoyable coffee.

Submitted 7 months ago.


Helena

Vancouver

Member Since
July '16

Smooth and went down a treat

Just what I was looking for this week, smooth, slightly sweet, light. Went down a treat

Submitted 7 months ago.


Mike Kunz

Mansfield

Member Since
November '19

Decadent

Smooth subtle sweetness

Submitted 8 months ago.


James D Johnson

Washington

Member Since
February '17

Pairs with Hu Dark Chocolate

The brightness provides counterbalance to a deep, dark dairy free chocolate. Hu especially pairs well.

Submitted 8 months ago.


Will Bklyn

Brooklyn

Member Since
January '16

Fragrant and delicious

This is a terrific cup. Fragrant and delicious. Perfect for the aero press.

Submitted 8 months ago.


Jeremy Weinstein

Los Angeles

Member Since
October '15

Standout

A favorite

Submitted 8 months ago.


Will Bklyn

Brooklyn

Member Since
January '16

Good morning

This is a fragrant, easy to wake up with coffee, with just enough of the "lime" in the finish to give it some structure.

Submitted 8 months ago.


David R

Sausalito

Member Since
October '15

Interesting Lot and Roast!

The nose of this roast is fascinating; struggled to place it for a while until it came to me - black vinegar and sugar. Upon sipping, you feel that citric acidity hit your palate, but it's more muted than many Africans and balanced against a sweet, earthy backbone. Like a strong, quality black tea with a lemony burst.

Submitted 8 months ago.


Kevin Florida

Katy

Member Since
March '16

Well Balanced, Perfectly Roasted

This coffee is very well balanced and a great cup. This roasting reminds me of the Moustache Coffee from a few years ago.. Definitely the best I have had in a while.

Submitted 8 months ago.


Hunter Lacefield

Clinton

Member Since
January '20

Lovely!

This roast is perfect for first thing in the morning. Brewed in a Chemex, full boiling water, 15:1 ratio. Plenty of body! Stands well on its own.

Submitted 8 months ago.


Jacob MacDonald

Denton

Member Since
April '18

Super tart.

And I dig the extreme tart/sour/acidic flavors. There's certainly some depth underneath, but I'm finding it hard to bring out the sweetness without brewing a watery cup. In any case, this is right up my alley and I'll happily tinker with the rest of the bag given the delicious base flavor of my first few attempts.

Submitted 8 months ago.


David R

Sausalito

Member Since
October '15

Lovely coffee!

With notes of sweet tropical fruit layered upon a robust backbone, Fazenda Juquinha is a well-balanced coffee, and absolutely delicious!

Submitted 8 months ago.


Kristin Shnowske

SELAH

Member Since
March '19

So great

Really unique. I loved its brightness, but it wasnt overpowering. Will be keeping an eye out for this one again in the future

Submitted 8 months ago.


David R

Sausalito

Member Since
October '15

Superb Coffee

Really like this one. The MCC tasting notes of apricot and sugar seem spot on. However, Jaguara has a backbone too, and won't leave you floating off with high notes. Stonefruit, cane sugar, and underlying roastiness. I could drink this one every day.

Submitted 8 months ago.


Michael Abner

Tampa

Member Since
January '20

Very nice!

I normally like darker roasts for espresso, but this made a nice pull for a morning latte or cappuccino.

Submitted 8 months ago.


David R

Sausalito

Member Since
October '15

Tasty and Interesting

Well-balanced Kenyan with interesting high-notes. Not as high in acid as some Africans can be, and certainly nothing pucker-inducing. This one is a pleaser.

Submitted 9 months ago.


Nick Vigo

Lake Oswego

Member Since
December '19

Amazing!

My favorite from MCC to date! Incredibly balanced with a delicate body. Keep up the good work!

Submitted 9 months ago.


Anik Sood

Brooklyn

Member Since
June '19

Aroma and Taste are Wonderful

This cup produced a really great Cherry aroma for me, and the taste profile is really lively, with a smooth finish.

Submitted 9 months ago.


Erik Hons

Austin

Member Since
April '17

One of our all-time favorites

The first sip of the first cup had for all the world a pickle flavor. I guess that's the "incredible tropical fruit notes" mentioned above? I thought it was going to be terrible but it's now one of our favorites. It's the kind of experience you can only get in a club like this.

Submitted 9 months ago.


Aaron Dussiar

South Orange

Member Since
December '16

Another yet bold flavor combing superbly

Really great coffee. Smooth up front with a long bolder after taste where the nuances of the flavor really shine.

Submitted 9 months ago.


David R

Sausalito

Member Since
October '15

Excellent!

Well-balanced coffee with a burst of acidity! With more high notes than the Guatemalan beans that have recently been shipped, this Columbian lends itself well to lovers of bright coffees with depth and richness as balance. This coffee might not be the best for morning drinkers with sensitive stomachs though, due to the higher acidity.

Submitted 9 months ago.


Marlo Raveendran

Irvine

Member Since
April '19

So good!

Fruity, acidic, but smooth - less intense berry notes compared to other Yirgacheffe I've had in the past, but still delicious when almost cold!

Submitted 9 months ago.


David R

Sausalito

Member Since
October '15

Sublime!

This is a fantastic coffee for lovers of luscious, well-balanced, full-bodied brews. This coffee has it all - sugary burst throughout, a tinge of citric acid in the middle, and a thick roasted flavor to end. Excellent bean.

Submitted 9 months ago.


David R

Sausalito

Member Since
October '15

Fantastic Decaf!

One of my favorite decaf roasts I've ever had. Will likely pick this one up again if available.

Submitted 9 months ago.


David R

Sausalito

Member Since
October '15

Amazing Coffee

This coffee rocks! Extremely well-balanced, with a solid core of roasted caramel from which flare subtle high notes - an acidic bite and a plum-like fruitiness. This coffee is warm, smooth, comforting, and I can't get enough. Highly recommended!

Submitted 10 months ago.


Karen Cheng

Weehawken

Member Since
January '19

AMAZING

First time I brewed this I was blown away. It has a rich body but not heavy, it's so easy to drink. Love love love this coffee.

Submitted 10 months ago.


David R

Sausalito

Member Since
October '15

Like Butta'

Rich, thick, smooth, and velvety, with a burst of sweetness and mild piquancy. Good stuff.

Submitted 10 months ago.


Joseph Frantz

Fort Myers

Member Since
December '16

Prettyyyyy prettyyyyyy pretty good

This bean is good. Prettttty good. Would recommend. I just put this in my queue for a round 2, which I don't typically do - I enjoy new surprises and let the Club choose for me. But this is too good to pass up.

Submitted 10 months ago.


David R

Sausalito

Member Since
October '15

Absolutely Spectacular!

This one rates as one of my all-time faves. I'm picking up on a black currant sweetness/tartness that gives off a floral and blueberry scent. Undercurrents of earthy roastiness balance things out. There's also a hint of spice. Complex, interesting, smooth, and smells amazing. Don't miss this amazing African roast!

Submitted 10 months ago.


Karen Cheng

Weehawken

Member Since
January '19

FRUITY

Love these beans, they're fruity and smell delicious when you brew them. Definitely a slowly sip kind of coffee, exactly what you'd hope for with a nice Ethiopian bean.

Submitted 10 months ago.


Dustin Elliott

Philadelphia

Member Since
July '15

Loved it. Wish we could order another

This is one of your favorites yet!

Submitted 10 months ago.


Ricky Brincat

Winchester

Member Since
March '19

A real stunner!

Juicy, a little tart, and a smooth tea-like finish make this an excellent cup of coffee!

Submitted 10 months ago.


Anik Sood

Brooklyn

Member Since
June '19

Rally pleasant, lively and light

This has a great feel on the palate, low acidity, not too sour, and really pleasing.

Submitted 10 months ago.


David R

Sausalito

Member Since
October '15

Excellent

Villa Maria is a winner - a smooth, round, relatively full-bodied coffee. It has a nice roasty backbone, redolent of dark chocolate, with complexity added through subtle mid and high tones. Roasty, sweet, subtly tart. Great everyday coffee.

Submitted 11 months ago.


David R

Sausalito

Member Since
October '15

One of my favorite African coffees

In contrast to many African roasts, Nimu Silas won't hit you over the head with acid and high notes. It's exceedingly well-balanced, with a nice robust backbone of caramel and subtle high floral high notes. A well-balanced finish rounds it out. Sublime.

Submitted 11 months ago.


Greg Evans

Johnson City

Member Since
July '17

Lucrecia Luna

I am late commenting on my favorite coffee on earth Lucretia Luna, Antigua, Guatemala from Lucretia de Rodas. My roast date was 10/31/2017 and start drinking date 11/04/2017. I still have a few of the beans that I saved. This is the best coffee I have ever had and I’ve drank coffee all over the world: Florence, Vienna, Rio, London, New York, Buenos Aires, Mazatlan...” Perfection.

Submitted 11 months ago.


GIANCARLO HERNANDEZ

HIALEAH

Member Since
November '19

Smooth

Makes a great cup of coffee and was enjoyed with it's robust profile.

Submitted 11 months ago.


Chris Greer

State College, PA, 16801

Member Since
September '18

Fantastic Burundi coffee

Extremely clean on the nose, light and floral as noted. First sip showcases the sweetness, but it's not overly sweet (artificial) or heavy (syrupy). Following sips bring out the plum or even a mango close to the pit kind of tartness, not sour. Great all around coffee for those who enjoy African coffees.

Submitted 11 months ago.


Tim Browning

Pocatello

Member Since
February '16

Great.

This is above-average, and average Mustache is really good. This bean is great with V60, but it is superb with Aeropress. I imagine that other brewing methods will yield similar deliciousness. I recommend this coffee.

Submitted 11 months ago.


David R

Sausalito

Member Since
October '15

Very good Coffee

Well-balanced between high and low notes. Not the most complex coffee, but it's highly enjoyable. A great everyday coffee.

Submitted 11 months ago.


David R

Sausalito

Member Since
October '15

Excellent Roast

A nose of molasses and citrus is borne out in the flavor of this good brew. Complementing this subtly sweet molasses backbone is a muted grapefruit tang. Well-rounded: roastiness, sweetness, tang. A very good coffee, but again (as with prior weeks), a bit subtle. To fully appreciate the complexity of flavors, I'd recommend tossing in an additional scoop of beans above and beyond what you'd normally brew.

Submitted 12 months ago.


Sandeep Thomas

Centerton

Member Since
November '19

Well rounded

I loved this coffee, it was almost a perfect tasting coffee for me. Mine had a less of a chocolate flavor and more fruit flavored, I got hints of berry.

Submitted 12 months ago.